Taking a Break From Social Media

So folks I have come to a difficult decision that has been on my mind for nearly a year. But I think this decision is actually going to benefit all of you in the end.

I’m going to step back from social media for a bit. This in no way means that I’m going away. In fact, I plan on using some of that time to improve, update and add new content to the website. Here’s why I have made this decision.

For those of you that don’t know, I am a wife and mother to two school-aged children and step mom to three adult children (from whom I have three beautiful grandchildren). I homeschool both of my school-aged children, I run my own business providing diabetes education and training services and I am also actually employed by a medical clinic for whom I provide diabetes education as well. So with all of that, I work about 50-60 hours per week. In addition, I have developed and solely manage 3 nutrition, health and wellness websites, run a social media page and manage 5 online support groups, serving over 10,000 people. In my “spare” time, lol, I participate in volunteer work, typically every week, with my family in my community. Finally, in my efforts to keep my family healthy, I try to cook the majority of everything that my family eats from scratch.

This last year, some events happened (my husband’s heart surgery, the death of my grandson) that caused me to start thinking about the value of my time. I have two children that will soon begin entering the teen years. They need more of my time. I have a patient husband of 17 years that deserves more of my time. I have a brother with a recent diagnosis of metastatic cancer. He deserves more of my time. I have parents in their 70’s. They deserve more of my time.

So what is it about social media that takes so much time? Every month, I answer probably 100 or more requests for information and help. While I’m very happy to do this, about 95% of the questions posed are already answered on my website. I have spent thousands of hours in research and development of this website, and I would love to increase its use to manage the number of information requests I get.

Next, when I post to social media, I actively participate in the discussions that ensue. I read every comment and respond to many of them, at the very least, “liking” comments to show my appreciation for folks participating in the discussion. I diligently monitor my page and all 5 of my support groups for inappropriate comments, posts, or spam. I also review the profile, likes and groups of every person who requests to join my support groups to see if they appear legitimate to try to keep spammers and trolls out of the groups. Finally, I spend a great deal of time reviewing new information from my colleagues in the low carb world in order to share updated relevant information, as well as looking for new recipes to test and share.

I’ve been doing this for over 4 years now. I do not sell books, or cookbooks, or meal plans. I do this in my own “free” (lol) time strictly because of my passion to help people. And I will CONTINUE to help people free of charge. But I feel that social media is not the best place to do that.  I find that time spent on social media is less productive than time spent elsewhere.

So I will be significantly reducing my social media activity. I will leave my social media page up, as it will contain valuable and helpful links to my website. However, I will clean off the content on the social media page so that it will not be a temptation for social media “spammers” to come in and make comments on old content that I might not see.  Don’t fret!  Everything that has been posted on social media is right here on this page.  Feel free to use the Table of Contents to find the content you are searching for, quickly and easily.  I will check in on social media, but only infrequently. In return, I’m going to make better use of my time. First and foremost, I will give more to my family.

However, after that, I have lots of new plans for expansion of this website. I think the topics of low carb and diabetes are well covered here. I will continue to review that content and update it as needed. But I want to expand the site in the areas of:

  • Diabetes in children
  • Therapeutic use of the ketogenic diet (ie. for cancer)
  • Natural health solutions and the therapeutic use of essential oils
  • Women’s (hormonal) health, and
  • Functional medicine.

So I’m not going anywhere. This website has been paid in advance for many years to come! Lol!! I just want to prioritize my time so that people (particularly my family), get my best.

I HIGHLY recommend that you follow this website so that you will be kept informed of new content, as I will probably not share it through social media. To follow this site, simply type your email in the “follow” box and hit enter. If you get an email to confirm your request, confirm it. Your email address will remain private.

Then, make good use of the site. Use the search box or the table of contents to search for answers to your questions. And if you can’t find them, feel free to contact me through the contact page (HERE).

While I have loved getting into lively discussions on social media, or sharing my random thoughts (or rants, lol), I have discovered that it is not the most productive thing I can be doing. Thanks so much for participating with me and stay tuned for great things to come!

Wishing you health and happiness.