I Guess I’m Not Good at Following the “Rules”

An angry teacher holding a composition book and pointing a ruler.

Recently, I was told that I don’t follow the “rules” because I try to help people find out what is best for themselves individually, rather than making sure everyone stays STRICTLY “on plan.” It was not the first time I’ve heard such statements.

Warning: I’m going to use sarcasm freely in this post.  I’m feeling sassy.  Hang on for the ride 😉

First of all, when it comes to nutrition, what I’d like to know is: what are these “rules” that I’m supposedly not following? You can’t accuse me of not following rules that I wasn’t aware of even existed. Who wrote such “rules” and who made the decision about whose “rules” we’re best? And what is this magical “plan” that is good for all living beings that I need to direct everyone to, and then make sure they follow it? Please share.  Because I’ve been looking for a “plan” like that forever and I haven’t found it yet! 😉

In reality, if I followed “rules” (such as the current nutritional guidelines) then this page would be called Low Fat RN, and we would all be slowly following each other like lemmings as we marched toward our demise.

That is the problems with “rules” and “guidelines” when it comes to nutrition. They don’t teach people how to think for themselves and listen to their own bodies.  I remained on a low fat diet for decades, eating gobs of “heart healthy whole grains” and low fat EVERYTHING, despite obvious clues from my body that something was very wrong (such as increasing weight, pre-diabetes, hypertension, constant hunger, and poor mood.)  But I stuck to it because that was what I thought I was supposed to do.  I had not learned how to think, just to follow.

Yep, for decades, this was me following nutritional guidelines…lol!

lemmings

.

But after decades of being hungry and feeling lousy, I decided NOT to follow the “rules” and go low carb. It was life changing for me.

Now that I’m low carb, apparently I’m not following the “rules” again. Well darn it! 😉

Folks come on!! There is no one size fits all approach to nutrition that is good for all people. And even if there was, we all have this beautiful gift called “free will.” It is not my right to tell other people what to do. All I can do is share what worked for me in hopes that it can help or encourage someone else.

As I have said a million times, I have only two true guiding principles when it comes to my own nutritional choices. 1. Eat real food (don’t overeat it though). 2. Eat in a way that helps you achieve optimal health markers (particularly blood glucose, as I feel it is the MOST important marker of health, hands down.)

I know for me personally, to accomplish these goals, I have to be strict with MYSELF. Now, how everyone else achieves these goals for themselves, that is up to each person. If you accomplish that with paleo, keto, primal, low carb vegetarian, whatever, more power to each one of you.  I’m truly happy for you and will support and encourage you, all the way!!  You won’t find a better cheerleader than me!

But if following strict rules is what you need, I’m sorry, you will have to impose them on yourself because it is just not in my nature to enforce rules on anyone except my own kids, lol! And even then, I’m not so good at it.  My kids are doing something right now that they are not supposed to be doing.  I have to go and tend to that!  LOL!

So, I’m sorry if this page is not rigid enough for you.  You may call that “not following the rules.”  I call it being reasonable.  It’s the only way I know.  😉

Wishing you all health and happiness.