Quit Punishing Yourself

This post is going to speak to those who are beating themselves up for not being where they feel they want to be in their health journey. It is dedicated to my dear friend Jamie (pictured below).

image

I tend to be a very driven person. It is very hard for me to slow down and take time to relax. I always feel that every waking minute of my day should be productive. Between working, teaching my kiddos, doing volunteer work, always reading, learning and studying, writing on my blog, and cooking, cooking, cooking, it is rare for me to slow down, and say, hang out with friends.

Over the past couple of years, that has been changing. My dear friend Jamie, has forced me out of my shell. She calls me almost daily, and mercifully, she often just shows up on my doorstep and forces me to stop working, and relax and just talk. At first, I would think, who is this kind of person who just shows up at my door? But then, I realized that she HAD to do that, or I would never make time to slow down. Thank goodness for her persistence and patience.  She is a true friend.

Another thing about me, I often set expectations for myself that are not reasonable. Then I will work myself to death to try and reach them. One of those areas that I work intensely at is getting to what I feel is my ideal weight. I’ve been working on this my entire adult life, lol!! Since going low carb, I have lost a significant amount of weight. But still not quite to my goal (it is possibly because my goal might be unreasonable, I’m giving that some thought right now, lol ).

So, I’ve been putting off buying clothes because I just didn’t want to buy clothes in THIS size. Maybe, just maybe, subconsciously, I’ve been “punishing” myself by thinking that I don’t “deserve” the new clothes yet. If I do buy clothes, I always buy them in the size I WANT to be, not in the size I am NOW. So, I’ve been wearing the same baggy pants for a long time. My friend Jamie hates this. She said that if I didn’t stop, she was going to make me go on that TV show where people get a clothing makeover.

Last night, my husband and I had dinner with her and her husband. Our husbands are buddies too, very convenient. We had a blast. I don’t think I have laughed that hard in a long time. Then, we went shopping and she made me get new clothes and shoes for myself, IN THIS SIZE!!

It’s funny.  I knew I really needed some clothes and had been shopping recently.  I had seen, and tried on, the very clothes I bought last night.  But I had put them back on the shelf, not wanting to spend money on clothes in my current size.  But last night, I bought those very same clothes.  Yep, I have decided not to punish myself for what I haven’t been able to accomplish, and celebrate what I have.

I bet a lot of you ladies out there identify with this. Maybe even some of you fellas. If so, maybe this can help you to rethink. Now, I doubt one night of shopping will completely turn my attitude around. But I do think it is a catalyst. Maybe it is time to not just be positive about life in general, but positive about myself.

So, I’m looking forward to 2017 with great anticipation. My big goal for the year is to attend Low Carb USA, if it is held this summer again in San Diego.  There, I will be anxious to meet many of those who have become so dear to me in the low carb world.  Hope to see you there!

My message to you (and to myself), is, try to be good to yourself.

Warmest regards 😉

Sending hugs to my dear friend who is probably going to kill me for stealing her photo off of Facebook and using it in this post.  I thought it would be easier to ask forgiveness than permission.  Love ya chickee!