How I Reversed Diabetes

For those of you that have been following this page for a while, you probably know how passionate (fanatical, lol) I am about diabetes.  As you can imagine, when I hear stories about people reversing their diabetes with a healthy low carb / keto lifestyle, I get super excited.  And, if they also lose weight it is even more inspiring, it is life changing.

Through social media, I have come to know many people with these experiences.  I have decided to start sharing some of these on my page to help people understand just what is possible with this way of living.

This is my friend Bill.  I met Bill some time ago in a Facebook group called Reversing Diabetes (HERE) where he has helped many others on their path to adopt a low carb lifestyle.  Bill was kind enough to take his time to let me “interview” him about his experience.

 

image

Q: How many years ago were you diagnosed with diabetes?
A: I was diagnosed just over two years ago, in September of 2014 as Type 2.

Q: What was your highest A1c, if you know it?
A: My A1C at the time of diagnosis was 9.7.

Q: What medications, if any, were you taking?
A: I was put on Metformin 500mg twice daily.  I was on 20mg of Atenolol at the time, and I was on Protonix and Zantac 150 for acid reflux. I was also taking Gaviscon and Tums on a regular basis. Three months after starting keto I stopped ALL of my medications.

Q: What made you decide to change from standard dietary recommendations for diabetes?
A: Within a few days of being diagnosed I started looking for help online, and like most newly diagnosed diabetics I went to the ADA page. A friend of mine from a Sleep Apnea group I am in added me to a keto group who’s focus is reversing diabetes with a ketogenic diet. After reading what was being posted in that group I became more and more interested. Of course I was skeptical, but I kept reading. Finally, it all made sense to me after watching Butter Makes Your Pants Fall Off by Bob Briggs (Video HERE). Bob was my inspiration.  (Read Bill’s full story HERE.)

Q: How long have you been living a healthy low carb / keto, whole food way of eating?
A: I started dabbling in low carb eating in September of 2014, but in the first few months I did have some slip ups. However, after one huge slip up which caused my blood sugar to skyrocket, and caused me to feel very sick for a day or so I buckled down and committed to keto 100%. I have been completely faithful since January 2nd, 2015. Absolutely no cheats whatsoever since that day.

Q: How has your medication regimen changed as a result of applying this lifestyle change?
A: I was able to stop all medications. I am currently not taking anything at all.

Q: How do you feel living this way versus how you felt on the standard diet for diabetes?
A: Well, I didn’t follow the standard diet for diabetes for very long, but I do know I feel better than I have in 20 years!

Q: What is your most recent A1c?
A: My most recent A1c in July of 2016 was 4.9.

Q: What other health benefits have you experienced from living this way?
A: I’ve lost 114 lbs now! Not only that, but I have the energy to be physically active, which is something I haven’t had in a very long time. My mood is also better. I firmly believe carbs and sugars contributed to extreme moodiness and caused me to not be the person I should be. Since switching to the ketogenic way of life I am calmer and much more patient now.

Q: Anything else you would like to share?
Based on my personal experience and from the testimonies of many other people living the ketogenic way of life I believe this is the healthiest way for anyone to eat, not just diabetics. This way of eating has changed so many lives for the better, and it is my hope many more people will get to experience this for themselves.

Thank you so much Bill for taking the time to share your amazing story!  I know it has inspired so many and will continue to do so!

If you know someone who is pre-diabetic or diabetic, please share this with them.

If you have a diabetes success story to share, please message me through the contact page.  I would love to hear and share it!