Physical Activity = Improved Blood Sugar

image

image

If you are not exercising to lower your blood sugar, you are missing out on one of the most powerful tools to increase insulin sensitivity and improve your blood sugar.

Many of you that know me well, know that I have been through some stressful, difficult challenges lately. My spouse having a major heart surgery, having to start a new job, along with my usual responsibilities of educating my children and keeping up my volunteer work. So I was getting really run down, not sleeping well and my blood sugars were slowly, but surely, creeping up. So I put my foot down and decided that my circumstances were not going to define me. I had to take better care of myself and, finally get serious about exercise.

I’m going to admit, a couple months ago, I NEVER imagined exercise could be enjoyable. I pretty much hated it. And I had ALL the excuses, even valid ones, to NOT do it…I’m too tired, I don’t have time, I don’t like to exercise, I’m too weak, everything hurts, you name it, I had made every excuse for myself to avoid it.

But since adding a small amount of regular high intensity interval exercise, along with strength training (the part I REALLY love) a few times per week, I have seen a huge drop in my blood sugars without any change to my diet. I was already low enough in carbs. If I were to lower them further, I would have had to eliminate vegetables, and I was just not going to do that. I just don’t feel good when I don’t eat enough vegetables. Well, now I don’t have to miss out on them.

In the past two weeks, I have not seen my blood sugar out of the 70’s and 80’s, my lowest being 79 my highest being 88 (post meal). As a bonus, I have lost 5 lbs, although that was not my intent, it has been a nice unexpected bonus. It has made me feel so much better, reduced my stress levels, lifted my mood and my mental outlook. improved my sleep and made me feel more empowered. It also helps me stay on track with what I am eating. I had gotten in the habit of snacking, nothing bad, some cheese here, a handful of nuts there. But exercise has helped me be more conscious of my habits overall and be more in-tune to doing the right things so as not to ruin all the effort I’m putting forth, lol!

I often get folks asking me what they can do to lower their blood sugar when they are already very low in carbs. The first question I now ask is “what are you doing for exercise?” What I am finding is that most people are not exercising and have no desire to exercise. Believe me, I understand.

But let’s get a fact out on the table…YOU CANNOT REACH YOUR FULL HEALTH POTENTIAL WITHOUT EXERCISE. PERIOD. Yes, I know exercise is not THE most important factor in weight loss and blood sugar control, but it is AN important factor. One that should NOT be left out.

Does this mean that you have to join a gym? Nope. While there is nothing wrong with that, I have chosen instead to exercise at home. Now, some may feel better with personalized fitness instruction. And some instruction is helpful to make sure you are safe and avoid injury. However, there are tons of fitness instructional videos and websites all over the Internet from very credible professionals who have willingly shared their expertise. Find some that work for you. Invest in a few dumbells, and/or a barbell, a mat, or even some resistance bands, and you’re ready to go. You don’t have to be a fitness expert to exercise. We, as humans, were MADE to exert ourselves physically. Can you imagine earlier humans, while out hunting their dinner, saying “4 more, 3 more, 2 more, last one.” No, they didn’t need a routine, they just got up, moved, ran, squatted down, pulled themselves up, lifted heavy things, etc. It’s not rocket science. ;).

I am NO fitness expert. I do have a fitness group that is used, not for any particular program, and not to help you design a fitness regimen, or give personal fitness advice, but really just for motivation. The biggest hurdle to exercise is ourselves. Once we stop making excuses, we will find a way to make exercise workable for us. Do you know how many fitness videos and websites I’ve watched and visited in the last few months? Probably hundreds. There is a lot of great instruction out there (a lot of junk too, so be discerning…when you see someone standing on top of an exercise ball about to break their neck, that should set off warning bells…move on, lol). I found things that work for me, and I do them, while each week trying to vary things up a bit to make things more challenging.

I know many of you will pass over this article. It will get very few views or likes. That’s ok. I understand. I have overlooked articles like this for DECADES! Lol! As a society, most of us hate exercise and want nothing to do with it. But you, like me, will come to the realization one day that it is just what you may be missing. So I will keep talking about it in hopes that one day, I will catch you at just the right time when you’ll be willing to give it a go! Believe it or not, you may one day, love it.

Good health to you.

PS I also want to say thanks to a special friend that has answered many of my fitness questions.  You can visit his site HERE.

Ok how about a few memes to finish this up…lol!!

image

image

image