Book Review: The Alzheimer’s Antidote

I have just about finished reading this precious gem of a book but I couldn’t wait to write a review. If you have a family member suffering from Alzheimer’s, or even if you are younger, say, in your 30’s and 40’s, and you are experiencing occasional lapses in memory, “where did I leave my keys?” “what did I eat for breakfast?” you need to read this book. Alzheimer’s disease is NOT just an inevitable, natural progression of getting older, and it’s not just something you develop when you GET older, it’s something that happens over the years by causes that are ABSOLUTELY within our control. This disease is preventable, treatable and possibly reversible with the right dietary and lifestyle strategies.

I highly recommend this book not only to those that already know an Alzheimer’s sufferer, but to ABSOLUTELY EVERYONE that wants to preserve their healthy brain function for life, that means all of you ;).  You are NEVER too young to learn about Alzheimer’s prevention!

This book is also an extremely thorough, well written, overall nutrition guide for good health, as the underlying causes of Alzheimer’s are often the same underlying causes of many of our other “diseases of modern civilization,” like Type 2 diabetes and other metabolic disorders. She helps us understand down to the basic cellular level WHY the nutrition recommendations are made. She uses everyday, easy to understand illustrations to explain otherwise very complex scientific processes.  That makes this book suitable for everyone, from healthcare professionals to those with no medical training who are just learning how important nutrition and healthy living are to our long term wellness.

Right off the bat, I became deeply engrossed in this book.  But the further I read, I just began to love it even more.  Often, I read books from those with similar points of view to mine, and I might pick up a new piece of information or two over the entire book.  But with this book, I did not turn a single page without learning multiple new things.  It was very hard to put down.   I am a very “WHY” person.  I always want to know WHY to EVERYTHING.  And she gave me an answer to all the WHY’s that came up in my brain.

I am super excited about this timely release of this book as I will soon be working with a group of Alzheimer’s patients. I hope to be able to be able to implement some of the strategies outlined in this book.

On a side note, I have followed Amy Berger’s work for quite some time and have found her research to be impeccable and her writing style to be extremely clear, understandable, and often comical. I have always appreciated her “no nonsense” way of telling the facts as they are, not watered down for mass appeal, but straight forward. The information she shares is life altering, so no need to dilly dally around, she gets quickly to the heart of the matter with practical solutions.

On my website, I have linked to her content quite often, as she is an authority on the nutritional approach to prevention, treatment and management of chronic disease. You can find more on her website here at:

www.tuitnutrition.com

For more information on getting this awesome book, click below. You’ll thank me later, lol! 😉