Having All of the Answers

image

In our quest for improved health, there is no end to the amount of literature we can read and study.  What is the problem with this?  The first problem is, THERE IS A STUDY TO PROVE EVERY POINT OF VIEW.  Yep, no matter what your point of view is, there is a study you can cite to back you up and a study that you can use to answer any that oppose your point of view.  Not only that, the same study can “prove” different points of view, depending on who is interpreting it and what spin they want to put on it.  That’s not even to mention the sometimes “conflicts of interests,” biases and downright scientific dishonesty that are behind many studies.  The next problem is, there are thousands of books to support every point of view.  Each year, there are hundreds more added.

Does that mean we should never read books or published studies?  No.  But don’t believe that they have all of the answers.  And just because someone can quote dozens of studies to back them up, THEY DON’T HAVE ALL OF THE ANSWERS EITHER.   Do you know who has all of the answers for YOU?  YOU DO.  Yes, reading books and scientific research is a good idea, but it can become an obsessive need to find out every possible detail about health.  Is it really necessary?  The stress alone from such a practice could undermine just what you are trying to accomplish.  One of the wisest man to has ever lived (far wiser than anyone I have ever met)  said “To the making of many books there is no end, and much devotion to them is wearisome to the flesh.”  Ecclesiastes 12:12.  So true.

So, how do we know how much to read and research?  Read enough to find the answers FOR YOU.  Read, test the theory out on yourself.  If it is right for you, based on improved health markers, then stay on that path.  If not, keep searching.  But once you have found how to have optimal health for yourself, how much more do you need to know?  Well, that is up to you.  But I have found that there is absolutely no end to the amount a person could read and research.  And I have decided that I don’t need to know everything.

I, for one, have answered the big questions for myself.  I am no longer searching.  The purpose of this blog is to share my conclusions with others.  But I don’t expect for this information to be the answer for ALL people.  In fact, if it helps just one person, than I feel like my time and energy was worth it.   So from what I share, take what is useful TO YOU, and discard what is not.  And if what I share is of no benefit to you, keep searching.  I don’t have all of the answers.  No one does.

I have found a new balance in life.  I don’t have to, nor do I want to, know everything.  Nor do I want to read every study, opinion, philosophy or viewpoint.   I would rather spend my energy putting efforts toward staying on the course that is right for me and my family.  Being healthy takes a lot of work in this unhealthy culture.  My time is precious.  So, if I have the choice between cooking healthy meals for my family, or spending hours reading more and more books, studies, blog posts, etc, I’ll choose the first.  Besides, trying to keep up with the never ending minutia of every facet of health increases my stress and decreases my sleep time.  It then becomes part of the problem, rather than the answer to it.

Anyways, I hope all of you can find the balance that is right for you.

Wishing health and happiness to you all.